.
News Alert
UPDATED: Bomb Threat at UMass Boston Cleared

chairs on north rd

Seriously folks? Putting lawn chairs out 5 days before the 4th of July? I thought the town treated parade stuff put out before the 3rd as trash and disposed of it.
Jim Stratton July 01, 2013 at 09:26 PM
Excellent...I had "Sunday" in our first-chair-out pool. :-)
Tim Miranda July 01, 2013 at 09:36 PM
I heard reports of chairs out on Saturday night, but they are unconfirmed! :)
Jim Stratton July 01, 2013 at 10:16 PM
Just found this on http://www.townofchelmsford.us/CivicAlerts.aspx?AID=90 : "Please do not put out chairs any earlier than July 1. Any chairs set out before then or that are blocking the sidewalks will be removed."
Anna Bucciarelli July 02, 2013 at 08:27 AM
I love it! I get the greatest kick whenever I start to see the "reserved" spots. It really tickles me and the spirit of the biggest and most important birthday party really gets to me with the first chair I spot.
Tim Miranda July 02, 2013 at 11:43 AM
but why so early? At what point does it get tacky and silly looking?
Anna Bucciarelli July 02, 2013 at 11:54 AM
Tacky and silly to who? It's only for 3 days of the year, 7/1, 2, and 3 ... the 4th is parade day and everyone then takes their chairs home and we are back to normal. It's Chelmsford tradition and who cares if out-of-towners can't appreciate our excitement.
Tim Miranda July 02, 2013 at 04:38 PM
So a couple clarifications: - out-of-towners? Why do you assume that all Chelmsford residents have a positive reaction to the current state of this tradition? This isn't an us-vs-them topic. - My post wasn't about the tradition itself of reserving a spot for the parade, which is quaint and, quite frankly, I like because it's got a small town vibe to it. It was about the perception that I, and others in the town, have had that over the past few years it seems like these reservations occur earlier and earlier each year. - If this was just July 1st, put your chairs out, and they are gone by the 4th after a wonderful celebration, awesome. But you and I both know it's not. This year chairs were out on Saturday. What about next year? I don't mean to belabor this point, but I also don't want to write this off: how early is too early? Next year, should I put my chairs out a couple weeks before the 4th, so I get the prime spot? Or does that cross a tackiness threshold for you at that point?
Lola trudel July 04, 2013 at 07:40 AM
I crack up when i hear that some chairs have been stolen. Really people, you put them out on the sidewalk a week before the parade! Don"t put a chair out there your not willing to part with!
Diane Ingram July 04, 2013 at 08:31 AM
I agree; I like the small town vibe :)
Paula Wetmore July 04, 2013 at 08:42 AM
I was thinking of putting my chairs out on June 1 next year just for a laugh! Really junky ones, of course. Enjoy the parade, and please pick up your trash when you leave!
Diana LeBlanc July 04, 2013 at 11:28 AM
When I moved to Chelmsford in 1995 I was surprised to see really nice chairs on the sidewalk. I assumed they were for trash pickup. I was even tempted to take one or two. Then I learned about this Chelmsford tradition. I think it should start on July 1st but that's just my opinion.
Gina July 04, 2013 at 01:02 PM
I think it's so lame and embarrassing. I am not an "out of towner", have lived here for a long time. As a kid we just went to the parade that day and got the spot that we got. It's a small town parade, not the Macy's Thanksgiving Parade. Why the competitiveness over a viewing spot? Trying to get home from the movies late yesterday afternoon, I forgot that the center was blocked off on the third too. I saw someone make a turn into a parking lot and they ran over a chair that was flat on the sidewalk. It's a safety hazard, and an eyesore. No concern for anyone trying to walk on those sidewalks, that they have to walk in the street as a result. Or homeowners who don't want chairs on their property. If I owned property there, frankly I'd get rid of the chairs. Last year there was a funeral at St Mary's and there were chairs there several days in advance. So they were there for the funeral too. People show no consideration for that either. Just so tacky.
Anna Bucciarelli July 04, 2013 at 06:26 PM
Well, I drove on No. Rod and pretty much all the chairs are gone today (July 4). I repeat, I love the tradition and hardly look upon it as tacky, more I see it as reverance ... people put chairs in the shadiest spot because it's alway blisteringly hot, generally under trees on their own property, and love the parade so much they are willing to chance losing a chair. It may indeed be a "small town" parade but it's about the only one close by and people look forward to it each year. It is America's birthday and I for one am more than willing for folks to celebrate it however they see fit. The chairs are quaint ... as for them being cause for accident, I never heard of any. So, St. Mary's funeral procession was a problem, I see that ... what to do? What harm did it cause? Some of you would ban the tradition and I would sorely miss it as I'm certain many Chelmsfordians would.
Paula Wetmore July 04, 2013 at 07:42 PM
The parade was awesome this year! As I stood clapping for local police & fire depts, someone behind me thought I should sit down! THAT, and not the fact that the chairs were out several days in advance, should be embarrassing! I appreciate and respect what our local service providers do for us, whether it's the schools, police & fire, or the water dept (100 yrs!). We made sure that the sidewalks were not blocked and the trash was picked up, so stop whining about the chairs and enjoy the comradery of a small town!
Anna Bucciarelli July 05, 2013 at 06:26 AM
DITTO Paula. Rather than whine, folks should get in the spirit and appreciate what this town (mostly volunteers) provides in way of celebrating the 4th. I also agree with rising and clapping for our service people, including military vets. I enjoyed every minute and have a bit of a burn to remind me of it!
Gina July 06, 2013 at 12:56 PM
So I'm "whining" because I dared criticize leaving chairs out days (or a week) in advance of a parade? As far as I can tell you can still attend the parade and bring your chair down that very day, no one is denying you the right to celebrate the 4th by not allowing you to put that chair out or by being critical of it. As far as chairs being in shade and being put there by the property owners themselves, well I just don't buy that. I have a relative who used to live along the route, people put chairs in front of his house-not him. They also asked to use his bathroom, and climbed a small fence, trespassing on his property, to do so. People put chairs in front of St Mary's so they can use their bathrooms during the parade-plain and simple. Maybe they lock the doors now, I haven't been to check in years so I don't know. Here's an idea-it's a church that has weddings and funerals, so don't put chairs there just out of respect for that. People also park in the parking lot there for the community band concert when there's a 4 PM Mass on a Saturday and the concert coincides with that. Of course maybe the pastor never says anything to the town manager, but it's hardly too much to ask people to leave that area clear. Plenty of other spots. No one is denying anyone their traditions, the parade will still go on without the chairs. Is it really about the 4th and celebrating the town somehow or is is about the best spot/a front row spot? What I give to this town in taxes more than shows my appreciation for the schools, the police, the fire, etc. As for the military, well my father is a vet and recipient of a Purple Heart. So my "whining" about people who have to get a front row seat hardly makes me unpatriotic. The 4th is also all about the freedoms that make this country what it is, and that includes the freedom of speech. So I will exercise that, and it hardly makes me a bad citizen, or an unpatriotic "whiner". That's the kind of thinking and mentality that gives this town the reputation it has in some quarters, frankly. If you speak out against any town "traditions" (and the definition of that can get very broad sometimes), well somehow you're just a negative "whiner" who doesn't appreciate what their tax dollars pay for. Could say more about that. but it's probably a waste of time. I celebrate America's birthday and get in the spirit, somehow I manage to do it without going to the town's parade or any of the other events. That makes me inferior somehow, apparently. One reason I don't go is that I know I can't tolerate the heat and humidity. So honestly if someone can't without competing for a (very limited) shady spot, maybe it's best not to. People were asked not to put them out before July 1st, that's more than early enough. Too early really. People see them out and have to do it, because they're seemingly petrified of not getting a front row spot. And that IS embarrassing. I also donate to the parade by buying raffle tickets, even though I don't go. I think that's more than sufficient support and citizenship.
Eileen Cushing-Craig July 06, 2013 at 02:47 PM
It's over and everyone survived. Is it really worth debating any longer?
Anna Bucciarelli July 07, 2013 at 08:47 AM
Gina, your passion is noted and accepted ... you make vey good points. Still, I maintain that the chairs are a "signature" of Chelmsford and will probably be with us for a long time to come. A thing to keep in mind is that it only happens one time a year, it is not a daily occurrence.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something